AI Pricing Explained: Musk’s Grok Comments And OpenAI’s Rule Changes
KIDieser Beitrag wurde mit Unterstützung künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) erstellt.

🔍 Read the full analysis: AI Pricing Explained: Musk’s Grok Comments And OpenAI’s Rule Changes on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on office and shipping supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Elon Musk said the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue, but gave no figures or details of a policy change. OpenAI separately introduced limits on paid accounts tied to cards and devices and said several plans will share a ChatGPT and Codex allowance from December, while also increasing some higher-tier allowances.

Elon Musk said on November 1 that serving xAI’s Grok Bot cost more than its revenue could sustain, as OpenAI introduced new restrictions on how paid ChatGPT subscriptions can be shared and announced a shared usage allowance for ChatGPT and Codex starting in December. Neither company published figures showing the economics behind the changes, and Musk did not announce a specific Grok Bot price or limit change.

Musk was responding on X to a user who asked whether Grok Bot usage could be reset, saying users had reported running out quickly that week. Musk replied: “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” The statement referred to Grok Bot, xAI’s task-focused agent, rather than Grok chat generally. It included no cost, revenue or margin figures and did not specify what, if anything, xAI had changed.

OpenAI’s help center says it is limiting how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be bought with one payment card or device. The rule covers ChatGPT Go, Plus and Pro plans; the cited help information does not publish a numerical threshold. OpenAI also says Plus, Pro and Business customers will draw from one allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December, measured in tokens. Unlimited Instant chats remain outside that meter, according to the source material.

The same week brought increases as well as restrictions. OpenAI’s October 29 release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 customers would receive twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction for Pro 200 was cancelled. Those details are narrower than a post by OpenAI’s Thibault Sottiaux, who described doubling limits across Pro tiers and Business Premium. The distinction matters: the published release notes specify which allowances changed, while the broader post used more expansive wording.

At a glance
reportWhen: Developments reported November 1, 2026;…
The developmentMusk’s comment on Grok Bot costs coincided with OpenAI changes to subscription-sharing rules and usage allowances.
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

Subscription Prices Meet Usage Meters

The developments point to a growing gap between a flat monthly subscription price and the variable costs of running different AI tasks. A short chat reply and an agent working through research or coding are not equivalent workloads. The source material says OpenAI’s rate card assigns different token costs to models, with its most capable model using an allowance about 100 times faster per output token than its cheapest. That comparison concerns token consumption, not a universal measure of total task cost.

For customers, the practical issue is that a subscription can have a stable sticker price while access is shaped by usage pools, model choice and account-sharing rules. For businesses, a shared allowance across products may affect how teams plan usage and attribute costs. Buyers may need to ask vendors how allowances are calculated, what work counts against them and how overages or resets are handled. Musk’s post highlights the revenue pressure providers may face, but it does not establish that a broad shift away from flat-rate plans has occurred.

Products Worth Considering

Apple Mac mini Desktop Computer with M4 chip, 10‑core CPU and GPU, 24GB Unified Memory, 512GB SSD, Gigabit Ethernet

Apple Mac mini Desktop Computer with M4 chip, 10‑core CPU and GPU, 24GB Unified Memory, 512GB SSD, Gigabit Ethernet

Apple MacBook Air 15-inch (2026) with M5 chip, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD, Silver

Apple MacBook Air 15-inch (2026) with M5 chip, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD, Silver

Apple MacBook Air 13-inch with M5 chip, 16GB memory, 1TB SSD, and 12MP Center Stage camera (Midnight)

Apple MacBook Air 13-inch with M5 chip, 16GB memory, 1TB SSD, and 12MP Center Stage camera (Midnight)

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the Pricing Changes Fit

OpenAI launched a $200-per-month ChatGPT plan in December 2024, describing access to its best models as unlimited. The following month, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because users were using them more than expected. That earlier comment provides context for current pricing questions, but it does not establish the profitability of today’s plans.

xAI launched its X Subscription on October 12, 2026. According to the source material’s account of xAI’s pricing page, Grok Bot is included in Premium at $30 a month, Super at $100 and Ultra at $200, and draws from a shared weekly usage pool with Grok chat and models in the coding tool Cursor. xAI says agent usage is measured by steps and tokens rather than message count, and that task type and effort affect how quickly the pool is used. Those rules help explain why a user’s workload can affect consumption, but they do not reveal the costs behind Musk’s statement.

OpenAI’s changes therefore do not all point in one direction: some high-tier allowances increased, while account-sharing and cross-product metering rules were added. The source material also notes that Anthropic’s Claude subscriptions have usage limits. These examples show that subscription terms vary across providers; they do not, by themselves, prove that every AI company is changing its pricing in the same way.

““The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.””

— Elon Musk, replying to a user on X on November 1, 2026

Unanswered Questions on Usage Costs

Musk did not disclose Grok Bot’s costs, revenue, margins or the period covered by his assessment. He also did not say whether xAI had changed the weekly pool, introduced a reset, adjusted prices or changed access. The use of the past tense in “was unsustainably high” may suggest a change already took place, but that is an interpretation, not a confirmed announcement.

The source material says other outlets reported a post from Grok’s official account about “adjusted allocations” and a separate dashboard fault that temporarily displayed usage too high. It also says the author could not locate that post. Those details are reported but not independently confirmed here. OpenAI’s card-and-device limits likewise lack a published numerical cap in the cited help information. The exact operational effect of the shared allowance, including how users will see consumption and what happens when it runs out, is not fully specified in the material.

December Brings Shared Allowances

OpenAI’s stated next milestone is the start of its shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans in December 2026. Customers will be able to check the company’s help and account pages for the applicable rules as the change takes effect. The source material provides no date for further details from xAI and no confirmed announcement of a Grok Bot reset, revised price or new usage threshold.

For now, customers comparing plans should distinguish published subscription terms from claims about providers’ costs. Businesses evaluating AI services can ask for written details on usage measurement, shared allowances, account limits and any charges beyond a plan’s included use. Whether these changes lead to wider price revisions remains unclear; the available statements do not establish a sector-wide move to metered billing.

Key Questions

Did Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?

No specific new limit was announced in the quoted post. Musk said serving Grok Bot had been unsustainably costly relative to revenue, but gave no details on a pool change, reset or price adjustment.

Which ChatGPT subscriptions are covered by the card and device rules?

The OpenAI help information described in the source material covers Go, Plus and Pro. It says the number of paid accounts associated with a device or payment card is limited, but does not give a numerical cap.

What does OpenAI’s shared allowance change?

From December, Plus, Pro and Business plans are scheduled to use one token-measured allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. The source material says unlimited Instant chats remain outside that meter.

Does this mean AI subscriptions are ending?

No. The developments described do not show that flat monthly subscriptions are ending. They show that subscriptions can include usage pools, account restrictions and different allowances for particular products or tasks.

Are Grok Bot’s losses known?

No. Musk disclosed no cost, revenue or margin figures. Any specific estimate of Grok Bot’s losses would go beyond the information in his statement.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

This content is for general information only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for decisions about your money.
You May Also Like

X Struggles as Users and Creators Depart

Challenging times lie ahead for X as user engagement dwindles and creators flee, raising questions about its future survival.

Major Auction Of Late-Model Construction Equipment In The Dominican Republic Rescheduled To September 2

The auction of late-model construction equipment in the Dominican Republic has been rescheduled to September 2, according to PR Newswire. Details remain ongoing.

Bethenny Frankel's Negotiation Revolution in Reality TV

Get ready to discover how Bethenny Frankel transformed reality TV negotiations, empowering stars and changing the industry forever—what's her secret?

U.S. economy added 57,000 jobs in June, less than expected; unemployment rate at 4.2%

The U.S. added 57,000 jobs in June, below expectations; unemployment remains at 4.2%. Experts analyze what this means for the economy.