TL;DR
Get business pricing on office and shipping supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
DoorDash and Instacart announced a definitive agreement for DoorDash to acquire Instacart at $65 per share, an equity value of about $17 billion. The deal is at least 75% cash, remains subject to closing conditions, and could combine DoorDash’s delivery network with Instacart’s grocery technology. The companies have not provided a closing date in the supplied announcement.
DoorDash has agreed to acquire Instacart for $65 per share, valuing Instacart at about $17 billion in equity, the companies announced. The transaction would bring DoorDash’s delivery network together with Instacart’s grocery-ordering and fulfillment technology, potentially reshaping how retailers offer online shopping and delivery; it still requires the deal to close.
The announced price of $65 for each Instacart share represents a 26% premium to Instacart’s closing price on October 22, 2026, according to DoorDash. The companies said total consideration will be at least 75% cash. Instacart stockholders may elect cash, DoorDash shares, or a combination, subject to proration that limits DoorDash stock to no more than 25% of the aggregate consideration.
Instacart’s board unanimously approved the definitive agreement. DoorDash said it expects to retain Instacart’s brand, enterprise technology products and app after closing. Until then, the companies will continue operating as separate, independent businesses, according to the announcement.
DoorDash says the combined business could offer retailers Instacart’s grocery and fulfillment tools alongside DoorDash’s delivery network, through the companies’ apps and retailers’ own websites. Its announcement also points to combining advertising and AI tools. These are descriptions of anticipated capabilities, not evidence that services or prices will change immediately.
A Wider Reach for Grocery Delivery
The deal would join two major online ordering platforms with different strengths: DoorDash’s local delivery network and Instacart’s grocery-focused technology. If completed and implemented as described, the combination could give stores another way to reach online customers without building all of their own ordering, fulfillment and delivery infrastructure.
DoorDash says Instacart customers could gain access to more than 50,000 additional stores, beyond the nearly 100,000 stores it says are already on Instacart’s platform. It also estimates that DashPass and Instacart+ members could save $100 million a year in membership fees by paying one fee instead of two. These figures are company projections; the announcement does not specify how the access or membership arrangement would work in practice.
For workers, DoorDash says more local-business orders could create additional earning opportunities for Dashers and Instacart Shoppers. The effect will depend on how orders are allocated, how the platforms operate after closing, and whether the proposed combination receives the required approvals.
Products Worth Considering

HP Sprocket Panorama Portable Color Photo and Label Printer

HP Sprocket Photo Booth Instant Color Printer Bundle

Brother TD-2020A 2‑Inch Direct Thermal Desktop Label Printer with USB
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Two Platforms With Different Strengths
Instacart, operated by Maplebear Inc., has built its business around online grocery orders and technology used by retail partners. DoorDash serves restaurants and other local businesses through a delivery and ordering platform. The companies describe their customer use cases as complementary: Instacart for larger grocery shops and DoorDash for meals and other nearby purchases.
The announcement frames the deal as a way to help local retailers compete with large online retailers and grocers that have built their own delivery, membership and technology systems. It says Instacart’s retail tools could be paired with DoorDash’s logistics services, including DashMart Fulfillment Services. That rationale is the companies’ case for the transaction; the announcement does not provide independent estimates of its effects on competition or local retailers.
““Grocery is one of the hardest things to get right online.””
— Tony Xu, DoorDash co-founder and CEO
Closing Conditions and Customer Changes
The supplied announcement does not state an expected closing date or list all conditions that must be met before the transaction can close. It also does not detail the full regulatory review, the timetable for shareholder elections, or how cash and stock proration would work if elections exceed the available amounts.
Several promised benefits remain projections. The companies have not explained which memberships would be combined, when any change would take effect, or how the estimated savings would be calculated for individual customers. DoorDash says local grocers will not face grocery exclusivity and that Instacart Shoppers can retain familiar features and choose whether to accept DoorDash orders, but operational details are not provided. Until closing, the companies say they will remain independent.
Approvals Before the Combination
The next steps are completion of the transaction process and satisfaction of the applicable closing conditions. The companies have not announced a specific date for closing in the supplied material. Until a deal closes, customers, retailers and delivery workers should expect the two services to continue operating separately, as DoorDash and Instacart stated.
If the acquisition closes, DoorDash says it plans to keep the Instacart brand, app and enterprise products. Further details about membership arrangements, store access, worker options and integration would be needed to show how the announced plans will work for users and business partners.
Key Questions
How much is DoorDash paying for Instacart?
The agreed value is $65 per Instacart share, for an estimated equity value of about $17 billion. DoorDash said the price is a 26% premium to Instacart’s closing price on October 22, 2026.
How will Instacart shareholders be paid?
The total consideration will be at least 75% cash. Shareholders may elect cash, DoorDash stock, or a combination, but elections are subject to proration and DoorDash shares cannot exceed 25% of the aggregate consideration.
When will the acquisition close?
The supplied announcement does not give a closing date. The companies say they will operate separately until the transaction closes.
Will Instacart keep its name and app?
DoorDash says it expects to retain Instacart’s brand, app and enterprise technology products after closing. The announcement does not provide a detailed integration timetable.
Will DashPass and Instacart+ become one membership?
DoorDash says members would pay one fee instead of two and estimates total annual membership-fee savings of $100 million. The announcement does not explain the planned terms, eligibility or start date.
Source: about.doordash.com
